When Lata Didi Mangeshkar stepped out of her car…

If we were to draw a music timeline from 1940 till today, we wouldn’t find a single moment when the environment was not filled with the melodious voice of Melody-Queen Lata Mangeshkar’s songs played by someone somewhere in the world. Lata Didi has lent her playback voice to a number of artists in the Bollywood industry. Listing a handful of songs of Lata Mangeshkar is like trying to pick droplets of water from an ocean.

I have met Didi couple of times and through each meeting, my belief that her nature is just as pure as her melody, has only strengthened. Also been fortunate to speak with Didi over phone frequently.

Lata Mangeshkar is one of the most celebrated singers in the country. Didi is a proud recipient of three National Awards, the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award, among several others. The Queen of Melody became the first Indian to perform in the Royal Albert Hall back in 1974. In 1974, the Guinness Book of Records ranked her as the most recorded artiste in history. She had reportedly sung over 25,000 songs between 1948 and 1974. She became a recipient of India’s highest civilian honour Bharat Ratna in 2001.

I have been extremely fortunate to have maintained a very special relationship for over a decade with Didi. Here are some of my personal experiences, that underline the belief that despite being such a great legend, Didi has been the humblest person I have ever met:

It was in 2010 that me and a friend travelled to Mumbai for a Doordarshan Awards program. We were very keen on meeting Didi as that was going to be an opportunity of a lifetime, but her guards won’t allow us to meet her. I gathered some courage and called her out shouting that we had travelled 200 Km just to meet her. Didi came out of her Lancer, and granted us the wonderful opportunity.

Here’s a photo clicked in 2010… https://m.rediff.com/amp/movies/report/spotted-lata-mangeshkar-in-mumbai/20100909.htm

Once it started raining heavily after I headed back to Pune after meeting Didi. Such is her humility that she called me and asked whether I had started for Pune and safe! Legends care!

Singer of over 25000 songs, Didi’s great memorisation is legendary. She used to recall her past experiences and narrate them with names. Once when I told her that I am from Nagar, she was prompt in quoting that once she went to Parner in Nagar district to meet Parnerkar Maharaj along with Shri Ramlal Ji Dhoot. Legends are down to earth!

Above photo (below heading) clicked at Prabhukunj by her niece Ms Rachana Shah (daughter to Smt Meenatai Khadiker). I sent it to Didi as a memoir, and she sent me the updated one. She had tweaked the photo with lighting, sharpness and improved colour balance. A great artist indeed at the core!

Didi was always active on WhatsApp. She used to regularly send me her spiritual songs and photos of several Gods & Goddesses. She was a keen follower of spiritualism and that also reflected in her routine life. From the day that we met, she messaged me and called me on my birthday, year after year. Getting this special treatment is just too kind a gesture from the legend.

Having spent so much time in Lockdown amid the pandemic, recently I expressed my desire to see her. She asked me to come home in Navratri, but couldn’t make it due to Covid19 situation. As recently as last month, she told me that she is keeping well and can meet soon… sadly my wish remained unfulfilled, and now forever…

I’ll cherish her memories through the book On Stage With Lata that she sent me with her autograph.

It’s a dream for many, which came true for me. I must have done something good in the past that I could meet the Nightingale of India.

Didi took her last breath today morning at Breach Candy Hospital in Mumbai.

In your heavenly journey Didi, rest in peace. You will always remain alive in the hearts of billions of your fans years on years. 💐💐. 💐💐

Rahul Shingavi, Pune.

About rahulshingavi

Hi ! I am Rahul Shingavi, based at Pune. I am working with an eminent scientist of India who is known as father of India's first Super Computer, Padmashree Dr Vijay Bhatkar. From last more that 9 years, I am working with him with ETH organisation. Before that I was working as a journalist in Lokmat, Gavkari, Tarun Bharat, Kesari & with many newspapers. Now I am working as a Public Realtions Manager & I have tremendous contacts with media, bureaucrats & politicians in Pune, Mumbai & Delhi as well through out world!.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to When Lata Didi Mangeshkar stepped out of her car…

  1. Chandrakant says:

    Hats of to you SIR…..

Leave a comment